Badass Women / Current News

Women’s March

I’m going to start this post off by saying that I’m about to keep it really real and these are just my opinions. 

With the recent election results I think it’s amazing that women came together for the Women’s March to fight for our rights. 

As a human being it’s not the governments job to tell me about what I can and can’t do with my body and threatening to take that choice away from anyone weather you’re a male or female angers the fuck out of me. 

I have all the love and respect in the world for every woman that marched to bring awareness to a very real issue in our country. 

With that being said some things about the March did bother me. 

Feminism to me is respecting and empowering all women. Even the women that you don’t necessarily agree with.

I’m pro choice but I respect the women that are pro life. I’m a working woman, but I respect the women that decide to be stay at home wives and moms. I’m pretty conservative when it comes to my fashion style, but I respect the women that like to take risks with there style. 

When I hear about the comments that Ashley Judd made at the march it made me question the new definition of feminism. 

Talking about Ivanka Trump and how her father has wet dreams about her is inappropriate. 

Ivanka is a smart, classy, business woman. She didn’t make the comment about grabbing women by the pussy. She didn’t do or say anything to offend women. She didn’t choose who her family was and trust me I think we all have that one relative that we just shake our heads every time they open there mouth. I know I have a few of those in my family. They don’t define who I am as a woman or what I believe in.

Ivanka is the founder of Women Who Work. A group that empowers and supports women who work and raise a family. 

Bringing down another woman is counterproductive and it bothers me. To me that’s selective feminism. You only support the women that have the same beliefs as you. 

Fighting hate with hate is going to get us nowhere. Bashing another women because you don’t like there family or life choices is idiotic. 

I’m going to fight for the rights of all women. I don’t care what you’re religious beliefs are, what color your skin is, or your life choices that you make, I’m raising awareness for all of us. Let’s bring back the real meaning of feminisim and do what we can to help all of us and not just some of us. 

Thoughts? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a comment